Reviews

8.1
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
7.8
Property Location
7.7
Facilities
7.9
Staff
8.7
Value
7.8

Reviews

    Mallory
    ae

    Review Score

    10
    April 8, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Denise
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 5, 2017

    Excellent location

    It was fine for me, as I am small. I imagine that a big person would find it cramped in the bed space.
    Clean, comfortable, very accommodating staff, excellent breakfast
    Linas
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    April 26, 2017

    Really nice place, but a bit far, and tough with any luggage, and pricey

    The doors should have locks - especially for the private rooms. It is a bit far from Kyoto, and the trip from the hostel to the nearest Jr station took 20+ minutes on foot every time there and back, with additional 10+ minutes on the train. It was also a bit pricey for where it was located. Compared to other hostels that were in Kyoto with similar quality and better locations, this was still more expensive.
    It is very clean and properly maintained. It has a really nice bar/diner downstairs and a cool roof top upstairs.
    ca

    Review Score

    7.1
    April 16, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Esther Bucholsky
    il

    Review Score

    10
    May 13, 2018

    A very nice hostel!

    Really good hostel, clean, has a good location, very nice design and very nice staff.
    au

    Review Score

    7.1
    April 10, 2018
    Spider webs around my capsule. No storage or locker. No elevator to get to the dorm level.
    Friendly staff, location great.
    지영
    kr

    Review Score

    7.1
    April 8, 2018
    There was no locker, I shocked. I went many hostels nowadays, but here was first hostel that have no locker inside. (There was a small safe, you can put little thing inside but wasn't big enough.) The towel was 200 yen per person... even though this hostel is not cheap!
    There are many good restaurants nearby. There are many subway station, so I can walk to the hostel easily. Fast wi-fi.
    Nabil Hariz
    my

    Review Score

    6.7
    April 6, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lorelei
    fr

    Review Score

    10
    November 24, 2017

    Excellent staff and room!

    The staff, the cleanliness of the room, the area was great too even if non in the center lots of subway lines.
    cz

    Review Score

    10
    October 6, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lamson
    th

    Review Score

    7.9
    May 5, 2017
    a little bit far from the train station
    good breakfast
    Corey
    jp

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 10, 2017

    Great place, great staff.

    Nitpicking but the space is a little small and for those with large suitcases storage within the rooms (or the designated area) will be a little tricky.
    The staff were really friendly and the space was really well designed. Very comfortable bedding as well.
    jp

    Review Score

    3.3
    April 10, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Caitlin
    it

    Review Score

    8.8
    March 28, 2017
    The location wasnt ideal but still easily accessed by a 15minute walk if you want the JR station or a 7 minute walk if you want to pay for your ticket to a closer station
    Really friendly staff!clean and modern facilities
    Siyada
    jp

    Review Score

    10
    March 26, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gaelin
    us

    Review Score

    10
    February 5, 2017

    Loved Gafu!!

    The folks at Gafu Hostel are so incredibly friendly and helpful. The price is low for what you get--a great breakfast (egg, toast, salad, tea or coffee), access to a washer dryer, incredibly soft sheets, and a stay in an expertly designed capsule-style getaway. They also provide a great map of the neighborhood that shows you where to eat. We tried three of the restaurants and they were all excellent and would not have found them on our own. It's very easy to get to from the subway, and almost the entire walk is through a covered market.